



# **BEN F. VAUGHAN III**

Of Counsel CIVIL LITIGATION, ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES: OIL, GAS, LAND & WATER DIRECT PHONE: 512.480.5617 DIRECT FAX: 512.480.5874 EMAIL: bvaughan@gdhm.com

# **PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS**

- Admitted to bar: 1967, Texas; 1973, U.S. Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit; 1974, U.S. Supreme Court.
- Education: Stanford University (A.B., 1963); University of Texas (LL.B., with honors, 1967). Order of the Coif; Phi Kappa Phi. Associate Editor, Texas Law Review, 1966-1967. Briefing Attorney to the Honorable Robert W. Hamilton, Supreme Court of Texas, 1967-1968. Fellow: Texas Bar Foundation (Life Member). Adjunct Professor, University of Texas School of Law (1982).

### **PROFESSIONAL AFFILIATIONS**

Member: Austin Bar Association; American Bar Association; State Bar of Texas; American Law Institute.

### **AWARDS AND HONORS**

- Texas Parks and Wildlife Conservation Hall of Fame, 2015
- Listed in *The Best Lawyers in America*<sup>®</sup> published by Woodward/White, Inc., Appellate Practice; Litigation – Environmental, (2012 – 2024).
- AV<sup>®</sup> Preeminent<sup>™</sup> Peer Review Rating, Martindale.com
- Volunteer Legal Services of Central Texas, J. Chrys Dougherty Award for probono service

• The University of Texas College of Natural Science, Hall of Honor Award, 2004

# COMMUNITY

- Legal Aid of Central Texas, former Board Member and past President (1999-2000)
- Seton Fund of the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent De Paul, Vice-Chair of Board of Directors and Executive Committee
- Coastal Conservation Association, State of Texas and the National Boards and Executive Boards of Directors and the Governmental Affairs Committees of each
- Marine Science Institute Advisory Council of the University of Texas at Austin, Member and former Chairman (1989-2002)
- The Advisory Board of Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute of Texas A&M University, Kingsville; Member and former Chairman (1989-1999)
- St. Edward's University, Austin, Texas, Member of and Secretary of the Board of Trustees (1987-1999)